Latest News

8 November 2018: Second Announcement has been released. Registration, travel grant applications and abstract submission open.

15 September 2018: First Announcement has been released.

About this symposium

The First International Astronomical Union Symposium on Laboratory Astrophysics, IAUS 350: Laboratory Astrophysics: from Observations to Interpretation, will be held in Jesus College, Cambridge, UK, from 14th  – 19th  April, 2019.

The active synergy between astronomical observation, laboratory experiments and theoretical modelling has become vital in realising the full scientific yield of multi-billion pound astronomy telescopes and space exploration missions. Consequently, the field of Laboratory Astrophysics is now established as a fundamental element of modern astronomy research. Further details on the scientific rationale can be found here.

This meeting will bring together researchers in theoretical or experimental chemistry and physics with those in astronomy and space missions, with many researchers meeting for the first time, to understand the latest challenges and recent successes in experimental and theoretical laboratory astrophysics and astrochemistry. The Astronomy topics covered go from star- and planet-formation through stellar populations to extragalactic chemistry and dark matter, complimented by chemistry and physics reaching from fundamental atomic and molecular spectroscopy, through surface reaction dynamics, catalysis, nuclear processes and high-energy physics, including fundamental processes in some of the most extreme environments we can imagine.

Confirmed Invited Speakers

Ewine van Dishoeck, Yuri Aikawa, Kathrin Altwegg, Olivier Berné, Til Birnstiel, Jürgen Blum, Adwin Boogert, André Canosa, Fred Ciesla, Ulrike Heiter, Cornelia Jäger, Anders Jerkstrand, Inga Kamp, Ciska Kemper, Kei Kotake, Karin Lind, Win Ping Liu, Michael Montgomery, Johan Olofsson, Juliet Pickering, Cristina Puzzarini, Sara Russell, Hendrik Schatz, Stephan Schlemmer, Bhalamurugan Sivaraman, Richard Teague, Jonathan Tennyson, Patrice Theulé, Véronique Vuitton, Naoki Watanabe, Nathalie Ysard, Peter Young